Godly Character Quality #38: Dependability!

Godly Character Quality #38: Dependability vs. Inconsistency: Fulfilling what I consented to do even if it means unexpected sacrifice. – Psalms 15:4


Wow.

I’d like to think I’m a pretty dependable person. I always do what I say I’ll do. Really! It’s time limits that get me.

Somehow, I am always extremely busy. I always have a ton of stuff to do! Even though usually it’s all enjoyable stuff, I still struggle with time.

So, I guess I’m dependable to a certain extent.

I’m choosy. for example if someone asked me to do something a few days ago and I’m just about to do it when something else that I’d much rather do comes up? Well, you guessed it, that person from a few days ago ends up waiting a few more days. Endless cycle.

I really feel awful when it takes me 2 weeks to get back to someone with something really simple. Something I offered to do for them! I don’t like to make excuses, and I end up in that position a lot.

Here’s to a change: I’m going to become a dependable person!

In all senses of the word.

Who knows what this may entail… scheduling, cutting out distractions, maybe some kind of personal reward… I’m not sure!

I want my friends to think of me as a reliable person. “Oh, that’s Sydney, Miss Dependable!” not, “Oh, Sydney, that girl who is all over the place and doesn’t understand the meaning of time limits?”

It’s a work in progress, let’s just say that. :)

Blessings!


What about you? Do you consider yourself a dependable person- in all senses of the word? What does dependability mean to you?
This entry was posted in 49 character qualities. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Godly Character Quality #38: Dependability!

  1. Jennifer says:

    After reading this, I guess I'm not very dependable! I'm always putting things off, but I get to them eventually… I'll have to work on that!

  2. I want to be dependable according to these standards. This is something I will for sure be working on….. I think being dependable directly impacts your integrity- something I want to cultivate!

  3. Debra says:

    I think this is something we all strive for to an extent….. As Alexis says, being dependable directly impacts your integrity – something I also want to cultivate….

  4. Lynn says:

    It can be so hard to do, but the point is to keep working toward it with that goal in mind. Thanks for the post!

  5. Lisa Taylor says:

    I think I'm pretty dependable. Though I'm also careful what I commit to :-) I have so many commitments in my daily life, I have to be careful about overload!

  6. Susi says:

    I guess I am, but for certain things it may take some time… I'm so incredibly busy and only have so much time… but I hope that will change soon.

  7. Alexandria says:

    My husband is just like this! His intentions are always good & he always wants to do everything he promises but he doesn't manage his time properly so that lives him looking bad :-(

Leave a Reply

